Union Structure

Share This

CUPW’s National office is in Ottawa. The union has 8 Regions across the country: 

  • Atlantic
  • Quebec
  • Metro-Montreal
  • Central
  • Metro-Toronto
  • Ontario
  • Prairie
  • Pacific

There are 208 CUPW Locals. At the Local level, members create bylaws, elect local officers, decide on local activities, and appoint delegates to Regional Conferences and National Convention.

Every four years, Local delegates meet at a National Convention where they decide on the union’s activities and policies. At Convention, delegates elect national and regional representatives, including trustees and committee members. CUPW’s national constitution and policies are the result of convention decisions.

The National Executive Committee (NEC) in Ottawa makes day-to-day decisions. The NEC joins the National Directors from CUPW’s 8 Regions in a National Executive Board meeting every two months.

11 National Union Representatives (NURs) work in Ottawa in areas such as Grievances, Consultation, Education, Staffing and External Organizing.

Organizational structure chart for the Canadian Union of Postal Workers